Only 7 kilometres away from Ljubljana, the capital of Slovenia, lies the village of Crna vas, which got its name of ''the black village'' after the black marsh soil that protects the traditional local houses. According to historical records, the territory of the present village of Crna vas was settled around 1825, after most of the Ljubljana Marshes had been drained to create agricultural land and roads had been built to connect it with the neighbouring villages. Most of the poorer settlers came from the areas surrounding Ljubljana. They were given a patch of land on which they built themselves a wooden house. They earned a living by cutting and selling peat, and by growing vegetables on their fields and gardens. In 1900, the Ljubljana Marshes Agricultural Society was established which provided great help to these small farmers. In later years, a tree nursery was opened in the village. All of this may sound rather idyllic, but the hard lives of the villagers were often made even harder by the annual floods. Consequently, many locals went to search for work in the capital. After the WWI, farming in the area gained a new momentum. In 1895, a school was built in the area of the Ljubljana Marshes, which became not only an important educational and cultural centre for the villagers of Crna vas and the neighbouring settlements, but also facilitated economic development in the area. On Sundays, the school opened its doors to adults, who learned about weights and measuring. The school was also popular with the local women who would meet there and learn new handicrafts. It had its own library and, from 1935 on, a small chapel. The villagers of Crna vas got their true spiritual house with the stunning Cerkev svetega Mihaela (the Church of St. Michael), which was designed by the famous Slovenian architect Jože Plecnik. (For more information please visit http://www.crnavas.si/zgodovina).